ourhandprints

Arise to a new life!

Vegan Cake Balls Sticks for 1

on July 14, 2012

OK so the title says cake balls for 1 but if your really nice it could be for 2 people. Luck me my husband is sick so I get to eat them all myself :). I know, I know that’s not nice but hey I take what I can get!

This recipe is super easy and super tasty. Now I’ve made cake balls before but they have never turned out this good. So I was very happy with the result. I will have to keep making them so I can become a cake ball master!

I love cake balls because they are so cool, amazing, yummy, pretty….and a bunch other words that I’m to lazy to spell out.

Pretty much a cake ball is cake crumble up mixed with frosting shaped into a ball and dipped in chocolate. Who wouldn’t like that? You can even fill them with things as well. A year or so ago I did some with cherry’s in the middle and on-line I saw someone put peanut butter in the middle and another person put cream in the middle. Yum yes please!!!!

A normal recipe calls for a regular size 9×13 cake, 1 can of frosting and a bag or 2 of chocolate. Since that is WAAAAYYYY  too much for me (about 50 of them) I used a recipe from one of my favorite blogs Chocolate Covered Katie. It’s her One Minute Chocolate Cake (which takes me about 5 minutes to make it because I have to measure out all the ingredients and I’m super slow I guess). This makes about 7 cake balls.

Here is what you have to do and what you need

One Minute Cake Ingredients and recipe

and

1 Tablespoon Frosting

1/4 Cup – Chocolate Chips

1 1/2  to 2 tsp Shorting

Sprinkles, Decorating Sugar, chopped nuts, crushed cookies, whatever you want really ( optional)

Go here  and make Katie’s recipe. I did mine in a coffee cup and I used agave nectar instead of sugar and regular unbleached flour. Oh and pour the coconut oil in last because once it hits the cold mix it starts to get hard again.

 

Now once it’s cool crumble it up . I used a fork but you can use your fingers.

Add about 1 tablespoon of frosting and mix well. You can add more if need be. You want it moist but not to sticky.

Form into balls and place on cookie sheet lined with wax paper ( I have read on-line you should put the  mix in the fridge for about 30 minutes before shaping them so it’s easier to shape but I haven’t tried this yet. If you do let me know if it works) . Now you can put your stick in or leave it plan. It’s easier to dip with a stick so that’s why I added them. You can use a craft stick, a skewer, a tooth pick, a chop stick, a straw, anything really. Just put it about 3/4 of the way into the ball otherwise it will fall out.

Place in freezer for about 30 minutes or fridge for a couple of hours. I put mine in freezer for about 30 minutes and then into the fridge for about 30 minutes since I was eating dinner.

Take you cake balls out of fridge or freezer and place on counter while you melt your chocolate. Place your chocolate and shorting in a coffee mug and microwave for 30 seconds. Stir until chocolate and shorting are combined and is all melted and running.

 
Take your cake balls and dip into the chocolate. I held my mug on an angle so I could dip them completely. Let the extra chocolate drip back into the mug and roll your cake ball in sprinkles or whatever topping you want, if you want topping that is. Place back on wax paper and repeat process till your all done.
 

You can eat them right away or place back in fridge for a little bit. I prefer mine a bit cold so I put them in fridge for another 30 minutes.

Enjoy!!!

 
P.S. If you want another flavor other then chocolate cake check out Katie’s other flavors you can do in the microwave here.
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

