ourhandprints

Arise to a new life!

Vegan Banana Cream Pie (With Oreo’s)

on March 25, 2012

One of my favorite pies is Banana Cream Pie made with vanilla wafers. On our shopping quest for all the ingredients we couldn’t find any  vegan ones! Sadly I thought I would just have to make it without them :(.  Then my husband’s brilliant idea was “why don’t you use the Golden Oreo’s?”. Not a bad idea but I thought it would be to sweet because of the cream in the Oreo’s. So he tells me to take the cream out(he will eat that don’t worry) and just use the cookies. So I did and it was amazing. My favorite version yet. So here’s the recipe so you can taste test it as well and let us know.

Vegan Banana Cream Pie (with Oreo’s)

Ingredients

1 – Pre-made Graham Cracker Crust (I used Keebler Ready Crust, it doesn’t have any honey, but you can use any or make  your own).

1 – Banana Pudding (I used Dr. Oetker Organics. Their Banana, vanilla, butterscotch and coconut are vegan. Chocolate is not, per email from company). You can always use the vanilla pudding as well but the banana taste better to us.

10-13 – Golden Oreo’s, with the cream taken out

2 – 2 1/2 –  Large Banana’s

1 – Healthy Topping Whipped Cream by Mimic Cream (http://www.mimiccreme.com/healthy.html)

Splash or 2 – Vanilla (optional)

Directions

  1. Make pudding and chill overnight or several hours. Make sure to cover your pudding in plastic wrap so it doesn’t get a hard film. Also, put your box of healthy topping in the fridge. It says minimum or 30 minutes prior to use but I feel it works best for me when its been in the fridge several hours.
  2. Slice banana’s. Make sure not to thick but not to thin.
  3. Crush the Oreo’s into small chunks. I just crushed them in my hand but you can use anything to make them the size you like.
  4. Make whipped topping. I whip my for 3 minutes and I added a little vanilla. I like it with or without vanilla but my husband likes vanilla added.
  5. You do not need to bake the pie crust if you buy the one that’s pre-made no bake, but you can if you’d like.  Now layer banana’s in a single layer on bottom of crust.
  6. Mix pudding so it’s all mixed together and gets creamy again. Spoon half the pudding on top of the banana’s.
  7. Layer remaining banana’s on top of pudding.
  8. Layer crushed Oreo’s on top of banana’s.

9.   Spoon rest of pudding on top of Oreo’s.

10.   Cover with as much whipped topping as you’d like. I used about 1/2  of the whipped topping. The remaining can stay in your fridge for up to 2 weeks.

11.   Place pie in fridge for 3-4 hours to chill. (if you can’t wait you can eat it right away but the flavors will blend better together if you chill it first)

12.   Slice and enjoy!!!

2 responses to “Vegan Banana Cream Pie (With Oreo’s)

  1. Nina Anne Moore says:

    Wow this sounds delish!! I can’t wait to try it. And yes your hubby is a real smarty pants to think of using the vanilla oreo cookies…brillant even!! Well congrats on your blog, I can tell from the energy it has its already a big success. Vegan can be quite tricky for some so I’m thinkin’ this blog will be very helpful!! Looking forward to more info and great recipes. So sending good vibes for much success with a future filled with great blogging for you and your hubby for such a worthy and fun cause!! LHK, Your M Lady (This is truly awesome!! So proud of you both!!)

  2. Dawne Hiscock says:

    yum cant wait to try a piece or two. …..looks great!

Leave a Reply

