ourhandprints

Arise to a new life!

S’more Black Bean Browine Pie

on April 14, 2012

Okay I know your reading the title going BLACK BEAN BROWNIE….ICK!!!!! Because I thought the same thing when my sister-in-law told me about black bean brownies but I had to try them because it’s so weird I had to know if it worked, and to my surprise it was good. Really good! They are a bit heavier and more dense than normally brownies but when I don’t feel like measuring a bunch of things to make homemade brownies this is perfect.
Here’s what you need
1 – Keelber Pre-Made Pie Crust  (or homemade)
1 Box – Brownie mix (your choice but I like the darker or double fudge because it has a richer flavor)
1 Can  – Black beans
1 Bag – Dandies Marshmallows. Now Sweet and Sara and dandies both make vegan marshmallows but if you can’t find them near you, you can always use Ricemellow or Hershey Marshmallow topping(by the ice cream section normally), there both vegan as well.
  1. Pre-Heat Oven to 350
  2. Rinse black beans while still in can
  3. Add water to beans in can to just cover them
  4. Puree black beans and water
  5. Mix brownie mix and pureed beans together. I stir if 50 times like the brownie box says.
  6. Pour mixture into pie crust (I filled my crust about 3/4 way and put the rest of the brownie batter into little pans to cook)
  7. Cook for about 25-30 minutes until tooth pick in the center comes out clean
  8. Put marshmallows to marshmallow topping onto cooked brownies and place back in oven under broiler for a couple of minutes till they brown a little.
  9. Enjoy!
Now if you don’t want to make the black bean brownie you could use any brownie recipe you like. It will still be great trust me, anything with graham crackers, marshmallows and chocolate is GOOD!!!
Leave a Reply

