ourhandprints

Arise to a new life!

Vegan Strawberry Shaped Strawberry Cake Filled with Chopped Strawberry’s and Chocolate Ganache!

on April 26, 2012

Vegan Strawberry Shaped Strawberry Cake filled with Chopped Strawberry’s and Chocolate Ganache!!!!

Sounds pretty good huh??? WRONG!!!!
IT”S AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And I’m not just saying that because I made it. It’s the complete truth.
Now my niece turned 10 last Thursday and order her cake weeks ago…like 6 weeks ago, an by ordered I mean she asked me to make her a cake.
So of course any reason for me to make cake is a yes answer. I asked her what she wanted and without hesitation she said a strawberry cake with strawberry icing in the shape of a strawberry (can you tell she likes strawberry’s?).
So I started looking at pictures trying to get an idea of how to make it (I’m mean it’s not all that hard of a shape which was good cause it’s the first shaped cake I have made.) The hardest part was trying to find a strawberry cake that I liked the taste of. I tried 2 different ones and they were good but not strawberry enough. I mean it’s a strawberry shaped cake…it has to taste just like a strawberry. So the weekend before I had to make the cake I was making  Banana Cinnamon Muffins from the cookbook Skinny Bitch: Ultimate Everyday Cookbook  by Kim Barnouin (which will be another post soon) and they came out awesome. So I was flipping through the book and saw she has a recipe for strawberry cupcakes. Since my hubby and I liked the muffins so much I decide to give it a go and make the strawberry cupcakes as the cake. I changed the recipe a little bit but all in all I’m very happy with the way it came out!
Vegan Strawberry Shaped Strawberry Cake Filled with Chopped Strawberry’s and Chocolate Ganache.
Cake:
3 Batches- Strawberry Cupcake Recipe from Skinny Bitch: Ultimate Everyday Cookbook  by Kim Barnouin . (Each recipe makes 4 cups of batter and each pan hold 6 cups of batter. So you need 1 1/2 recipes per pan)( I changed the extracts because I wanted a really strawberry cake so I use Strawberry Extract in replace of the vanilla and  Vanilla Extract in replace of the almond).
2 – 10x 10 square pans (now I only had one pan so I made 1 1/2 batch batter and baked it then let it cool for 20 minutes. Cleaned the pan and make sure it was all cool again and then did the other 1 1/2 batch batter and baked that.)
Wax paper
Shorting or non stick spray or cake release from Wilton
Red Food Coloring
 Ganache:
1/2 Bag – Vegan Chocolate Chips
2 – 3 Tablespoons – Vegetable Shortening
Other Items needed:
1 Cup – Chopped Strawberry for filling (More or less to taste)
2 Cans – Strawberry Frosting
Red Food Coloring
Black Food Coloring
Green Food Coloring

Fondant (you need a very little bit of this to make the seeds and leaves)

  • Preheat oven per recipe directions
  • Grease pans(bottom and sides) and place wax paper on the bottom of the pan (this helps the cake come out easier) then grease wax paper
  • Prepare the batter according to the directions( I used 2 tsp strawberry extract and 1 tsp vanilla extract per recipe but you can do whatever you’d like) and add some red food coloring to make a deeper red color. Pour 6 cups batter into the pan and make sure the batter is level and to all sides and corners. Bake according to directions
  • Remove from oven and cool 20 minutes. Remove from pan, place on wire rack to cool completely. (Once cool completely I placed mine in the fridge overnight)
  • Once completely cooled trim down the top of the cakes to be level (if not already) then stack cakes on top of each other and cut into strawberry shape. ( I tape 2 pieces of paper together and measured out 10 x 10. Then I drew my strawberry shape and cut it out. I then placed the cut out shape on the cake to follow as I cut.)
  • Now you need to get your frosting ready. Take frosting and mix in some red food coloring till the shade you want. Place in piping bag (this just make it easier to add the frosting to the cake)
  • Take the top layer of cake off and pipe frosting on top of the bottom layer (just around the edges to hold in your ganache and strawberry’s.
  • Now to make the ganache. Take the chocolate chips and place in the microwave safe cup or dish and add the shortening. Microwave on high for 30 seconds then stir. Continue that until the chips are melted. ( Now I only used 1 tablespoon of shortening and once I put the cake in the fridge for about an hour  the ganache was hard again. So I say use 2-3 tablespoons and that should work)
  • Allow the ganache to cool a little and then place onto the bottom cake in between the frosting you just piped.
  • Add chopped strawberry’s to the top of the ganache.
  • Place top cake layer on top of the ganache and strawberry’s. Press down slightly.
  • Now crumb coat the whole cake with frosting. ( Crumb coat is when you put a light layer of frosting over the whole cake to help with crumbs. It holds the crumbs in so you don’t have crumbs thought out your frosted cake.) Once crumb coated place in fridge for a little bit to harden the frosting.
  • While your waiting for your frosting to get a little hard you can work on your fondant pieces. Just take a little chunk of fondant and add green food coloring with a toothpick. Kneed until the color is blended good. Now roll out to the thickness you want and cut out your leaves. Put your leaves to the side and take another little piece of fondant and add black food coloring with a toothpick to make the seeds. Kneed until the color is blended good. Now roll into a long skinny piece and use scissors or a knife to cut little chunks off, place to the side.
  • Take cake out of fridge and finish icing.
  • Once finished icing add the leaves and seeds.
  • Enjoy.

One response to “Vegan Strawberry Shaped Strawberry Cake Filled with Chopped Strawberry’s and Chocolate Ganache!

  1. throve says:

    Wow, you are so talented. Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

