ourhandprints

Arise to a new life!

Vegan Cheesecake Cupcakes with Raspberry Yonana

on June 27, 2012

 

I was looking at few things last week when I came across a cupcake contest. Not just any cupcake contest…an ICE CREAM CUPCAKE CONTEST! Did you read that right people!!! An Ice Cream Cupcake Contest. Two of the best thing combine.

Yes Please, Sign me up!

The contest is the 5th annual Ice Cream Cupcake Contest put on by Cupcake Project and Scoopalicious.

Immediately I started thinking of so many different things I could make. How will I ever narrow it down? Well after driving my husband insane, I finally decided on a Cheesecake Cupcake. Cheesecakes are one of my favorite desserts to eat and since I have been vegan I really haven’t had that many that were great to me. So I was excited to try this out and have that yummy cheesecake flavor in a cupcake. Now since most regular cheesecakes are topped with a strawberry or cherry topping I thought it would be great to top the cupcake with Raspberry Yonana topping. And WOW was I right. The raspberry yonana just added this amazing taste to the already great tasting cupcake.

I got the original cupcake recipe from Cookie Madness . It’s a red velvet cheesecake cupcake but since I wanted a more of regular cheesecake taste and since it wasn’t vegan I changed a few things on it and it worked perfectly. Taste just like a cheesecake with raspberry topping. 

Below is my updated recipe. Make sure to go to the original recipe and check our her ingredients, wonderful pictures and for the instructions.

Ingredients
 
Filling:
  • 4 ounces cream cheese, softened ( I used Follow Your Heart brand. I think it’s the best tasting one but Tofutti is good too)
  • 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 ½ tablespoons lightly beaten egg (break egg, mix with fork, measure) ( I used  Ener-G-Egg Replacer. I just made 1 egg according to the directions on the box and put it all into the filling mix. It came out to be about 2 tablespoons full).
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla

Batter:

  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoon all-purpose flour (5 oz)
  • 2 teaspoons unsweetened natural cocoa powder ( I used more flour instead of cocoa powder)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 plus 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 large egg (I again used Ener-G-Egg Replacer)
  • 1 tablespoon red food coloring ( I didn’t add this at all)
  • 3/4 teaspoons vanilla 
  • 3 tablespoons sour cream ( I used  Follow Your Heart brand. I think it’s the best tasting one but Tofutti is good too)

Additional Ingredients:

  • Graham crackers. Take 2 sheets of graham crackers. Crush them as big or fine as you like and add two teaspoons to the bottom of each cup before you add your batter. 

Raspberry Yonana Topping:
 
  • 2 Frozen Bananas
  • 1 to 1 1/2 Cups Frozen Raspberries

 Put the 1st banana in your yonana machine then raspberries then 2nd banana. Make sure to scrap out all the good banana and raspberries that may still be in the machine. Once your all done mix it  together really good and add a scoop to your cooled cupcake. 


Enjoy!

Here are some of the pictures of my process. It was really fun making it. I think next time I will mix the filling with the batter to see how that comes out too. 

1st Layer of Batter

Cupcake all together before going into oven

Cupcakes all baked and out of the oven

Finish Cupcake with Raspberry Topping!!!!

4 responses to “Vegan Cheesecake Cupcakes with Raspberry Yonana

  1. Stef says:

    I love that you made vegan cheesecake. I had a tofu cheesecake once and I was surprised by how good it was. And – your topping of bananas and raspberries sounds great! I bet I could make that in my Vitamix. I’ll have to give it a try. Thanks for entering and good luck!!

    • Thanks sO much for the comment. I love cheesecake and I had a blast making it vegan. Yes you can use a vitamix. I’ve heard good results about them. Let me know if you try it put. I would love some feedback!

  2. Thrilled to learn about the Yonana Machine! Love the color of the raspberry yonana! I’m also excited you entered a vegan recipe. Awesome

Leave a Reply

