ourhandprints

Arise to a new life!

Happy Birthday Cake!

on October 8, 2012

CHOCOLATE Cake!!!

So my sister birthday just past in September. She turned really really old 🙂 just kidding she turned 29! I wanted to make her a super special birthday dessert. I ask her what was her favorite dessert that I have made or anything she wants and she said my chocolate cake with ganache filling. I told  her to forget I ask so it would be a surprise.

I gotta say it is my favorite cake now. See this is one of my favorites because I don’t like normal chocolate cake. It’s always just to bland and dry to me. I’ve always been a fan of vanilla but this cake changed my mind on chocolate cake. It’s one is my ultimate favorite now and my go to recipe for a lot of things.

Ingredients:

Chocolate cake I used is from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World. It’s the “Your Basic Chocolate Cupcake”  recipe. I  made half the recipe because I only made 2 mini springform pans. It was the perfect amount.

Chocolate frosting I used “Chocolate Buttercream Frosting” from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World. Again I only made half the recipe because it was a perfect amount.

Ganache it’s my homemade recipe (see below).

Directions:

  1. Make 2 mini cakes and cool
  2. Make Frosting and place in a bag (I just used a Ziploc bag and cut a little of the corner)
  3. Make ganache and cool slightly.
  4. Take the 1st mini cake and place on a plate. Take your frosting and go around the edge to make a holder for your ganache. Add the ganache.
  5.  
  6. Top with the 2nd mini cake.
  7. Take you frosting and frost the rest of the cake.( I just squished it out of the bag and used a knife to make it smooth.) If you have any frosting left in your bag add designs around the sides to pretty it up.I had some ganache left over so I just drizzled it on to the top for added prettiness and topped with sprinkles.

Ganache :

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1 tablespoon milk ( I like Almond Milk)

1 1/2 tsp shortening

Mix all together and microwave for 30 seconds. Stir and repeat until melted. Add more milk a tiny bit at a time if it’s too thick. Let cool a little bit before putting in cake.


Leave a comment