ourhandprints

Arise to a new life!

Vegan Dirt Cake

on October 11, 2012

For my birthday this year (back in June) I decided I wanted dirt…cake..dirt cake that is. I mean I’m a vegan so of course I like the taste of dirt…and sweet dirt is the best. I’ve been loving this cake for as long as I can remember.  So I check out some things online because I couldn’t find my mom’s old recipe I used to use and I didn’t like what a lot of people said how to make it so I decide to make my own, Then half way to work I remember where I put my mom’s old recipe!

Dirt Cake

1 1/2 package Oreo’s

1 Tube Cream Cheese ( I used follow your heart brand)

1/2 – 1 cup powdered sugar ( I used 1/2 cup)

2 boxes vanilla pudding ( Some people say chocolate but I have never done it that way)

4 Cups Milk for pudding

2 cups whipped topping (I used 1/2 box of Healthy Top by Mimic Cream)

Make the pudding according to the directions and place into fridge over night (You need the pudding cold so that’s why it needs to be made a day before the rest).

Crumble cookies into small pieces. You can place into blender to do this but I like putting into bag and smacking it. This way the chucks are all different sizes.

In medium bowl blend cream cheese and powder sugar until smooth.

In a small bowl make your whipped topping according to the directions.

In a large bowl blend the pudding, whipped topping and cream cheese mixture until smooth and combined.

In a large clear bowl (or flower-pot or sand castle pale..or anything really. I like clear because then you can see the different layers) place a layer of cookies, then cover with 1/2 the pudding mixture, another layer of cookies, the rest of the pudding mixture, then the rest of the cookies. You can also add gummy worms (vegan ones) on top or throughout the cake. It gives it more of a realistic dirt feel with the gummy worms. If you use a flower-pot you can always place a plastic flower it in too.

Leave a Reply

