ourhandprints

Arise to a new life!

“Birth” Day Cupcakes

on August 14, 2012

My Sister had her 3rd child Saturday. A Beautiful Baby Girl!!! I’m a happy Aunt 🙂

Baylee Mae was born 8/11/2012 at 12:31 PM.

A huge CONGRATULATIONS to the proud Mommy, Daddy, Big Sister and Big Brother.

Since it was her birthday I had to make her something to start it off right.  I used this doughnut recipe by CCK (Chocolate Covered Katie…I know, I know another one of her recipes. But seriously they’re fabulous tasting and totally easy to make). But I couldn’t stop at just that. I had to jazzy it up some….soooooo I made candles, and roses and B’s (the letter not the bug) with fondant.

I had such a fun time making them and was so happy with how cute them came out. I mean I had an idea of how I wanted them to look and they came our better than I hoped so I was thrilled to say the least.

Doughnut Recipe (with sprinkles added). ( I did 1 and 1/ 2 recipes and it made 14 cupcakes.)

Frosting

I used Pillsbury Strawberry Frosting. I colored half purple and left the rest pink. I then put them both into a frosting bag (one color on one side the other color on the other. It’s a bit messy but not to bad) and piped them out  ( here’s another way to do 2 or more colors). I started from the middle of the cupcake and worked by may out. That’s how you get the rose look.

Fondant Candles:White Fondant, Yellow Fondant and Purple Fondant. (You can color your own of by the pre-colored ones).

Roll white fondant into a cylinder shape however big you want your candle. Place a little hole at the top so you flame can go into it some. Place to the side. Take some purple fondant and roll into thin (or thick if you prefer) strings. Roll your purple string fondant onto your while cylinder. I did three separate ones but you can do one long one and wrap it around the whole cylinder. Now place to the side. Roll your yellow fondant into a ball and then peak the top some to make it look like a flame. Now peak the bottom slightly so it will fit into your cylinder. Get the bottom of your flame a little wet with water and stick it into your cylinder.  Ta Da!!!! You’ve made a candle. They get easier as you go along. Now if you want your candle to stand up straight you will want to add some gum tex into your fondant. I have never tried it before but that’s how you get it to work I’ve been told.  You can check it out here.

B’s (the letter not the bug).

If you have a “B” cutter then you can just roll your fondant out and cut the B’s out but I didn’t have one so I used a frosting tip.

Roll your fondant out to the thickness you want. Then used the big circle end of your tip and push into fondant. I used 2 circles and over lap them. Then I used the small part of the tip to place a hole into each circle. Then I flatten the bottom circle and the sides to make it look more like a ‘B”.

Roses

The roses were so easy and fun to make. I found out how to make them on this site. It’s for gum paste but worked perfectly for fondant.  Here is another site and here as well.


One response to ““Birth” Day Cupcakes

  1. acakediva says:

    Your cupcakes are so cute! 🙂 Thanks so much for the link to my blog.

Leave a comment